Go To Content
Current Location Home > City Government > FAQs
  • print
  • Go Back

Historical Development of Agencies under Taichung City Government

At the time when former Taichung City Government and former Taichung County Government were merged and upgraded to a special municipality on December 25, 2010, the Taichung City Government had 27 first-level agencies (including 20 bureaus, 4 departments and 3 commissions), 204 second-level agencies and 29 district offices (outreach agencies). The addition of Water Resources Bureau on January 1, 2012 has since increased the number of first-level agencies to 28. With regard to the second-level agencies, the Central District Health Center and the West District Health Center were integrated into the "Central and West District Health Center" on August 1, 2011, while 22 "nurseries" had been restructured into "kindergartens" one after another since August 2012. Moreover, the Traffic Adjunction Center was founded on January 1, 2013, while four cultural centers (namely the Dadun Cultural Center, the Huludun Cultural Center, the Seaport Art Center and the Tun District Art Center) were merged into one single unit under the Cultural Affairs Bureau. Therefore, the number of second-level agencies has been reduced to 178. On November 1, 2014, the Taichung City Longjing Land Office, a second-level agency, was established, but Heping District has started self-governance since December 25, 2014, resulting in Heping District Library being transferred from Cultural Affairs Bureau to Heping District Office. Thus, the number of district offices was lowered to 28, but the second-level agency remained at 178 in total. Currently, under the Taichung City Government are 28 first-level agencies and 178 second-level agencies and 28 district offices.

Miss Wang Yi-yong, Business Planning Division, Department of Personnel (telephone extension 17107)
  • Data update: 2018-02-14
  • Publish Date: 2015-11-03
  • Source: Department of Personnel
  • Hit Count: 1949
Go Top